The Beehive Gem Club was organized in April 1970 as a part of the Northwest Federation of Mineralogical Societies.  In the mid-'70s the name was changed to Beehive Rock & Gem Club to better reflect the diverse interests of the members.  Around the same time the membership voted to change over to the Rocky Mountain Federation  of Mineralogical Societies.  This was so members who belonged to both Beehive Rock & Gem  and Golden Spike Gem & Minerals  (Northwest Federation) could place competitive display cases in rock shows of either federation.


The founders wanted to have a club that was basically oriented around taking field trips.  Social activities center around the monthly meetings, gathering rocks together and fireside visiting in the evening on the trips.  The January Winter Party, April Birthday Party and Auction bring us together when the weather does not allow for field trips.  The August Potluck Picnic gives us an opportunity to compare notes from summer trips and talk of the fall trips.


More experienced members are always ready to help newer ones learn what to look for and what to do with the materials they find.


Half the fun for us is taking someone new out in the hills and helping them find pretty rocks or what will be pretty when they get them polished up.


The objectives of Beehive Rock and Gem Club is to stimulate interest in the collection of rocks, minerals, gem materials, and legal fossils. To discuss and impart our knowledge of the different phases of collecting, cutting, polishing and displaying them.  Also to organize educational meetings, field trips and similar events while enjoying and protecting our natural resources.


The Beehive Rock and Gem Club subscribes to the American Federation of Mineralogical Societies Code of Ethics, and requires all members and guests to comply with that Code.

Club Officers

President -              Debbie Larsen      385-319-2808

Vice President -      Babette Nelson     801-395-4102

Secretary -              Dave Offret            801-791-6081

Treasurer -              Tom Larsen           801-390-8270


Board of Directors

Field Trip Chairman -               

Field Trip Coordinator -        Jay Fackrell/Scott Winn  801-458-3452/801-787-4441

Program Chairman -            Club Program Committee    

Door Prize Chairman -         Jim Alexander     801 399-0785

Hospitality Chair -                Linda Pilcher       801 392-7620

Membership Chairman -     David Offret  801-791-6081

Mini-Show Chairman -               

Safety Chairman -                   Dennis Anderson 801 540-1649

Editor of BUZZER -                  Linda Pilcher        801-668-8084     


Assistant Editor of BUZZER - Dave Harris          801 737-1266 

Associate BUZZER Editor -     Leora Alexander  801 399-0785

Web Page manager-               Steve Smith          801-781-0233

Publicity Specialist -               Steve Smith          801-781-0233

Calling Committee -                Linda Pilcher        801-392-7620                                                                                                                                         




© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with